At Leverton Academy, we deliver a broad and balanced curriculum which engaged and interest children in their learning. The Primary Statutory Curriculum is divided into two parts: Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS) and the National Curriculum (Key Stage 1 & 2)

The curriculum is about all the intended learning that takes place during the school day. We use a variety of teaching strategies to deliver the curriculum ranging from whole class, setting, groups, investigations/research and individual. At our school we provide a curriculum that caters for the development of the whole child so that all aspects of physical and intellectual growth can develop and our pupils can become independent and successful learners.

Using the National Curriculum, we have personalised the content and learning to suit the needs and interests of our children. We started with 4 key 'Curriculum Drivers' that underpin the foundations of the learning at Leverton Academy. 

Spirituality - Environment - Knowledge of the World - Possibilities

We aim to enable every child to master the important skills and knowledge they will need in the future and to help them become successful independent learners. We place particular emphasis on the basic skills of communication, reading, writing and mathematics within a broad and balanced framework to enable all pupils to achieve their full potential.

Find out more about: Read Write Inc, Maths, Topic Learning, I.C.T, P.E and R.E

Early Years Foundation Stage

Willow Class Yearly Overview (2016/17)

We plan an exciting and challenging curriculum based on our observation of children's needs, interests, and stages of development across the seven areas of learning to enable
the children to achieve and exceed the early learning goals. All the seven areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.

Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas are the prime areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Children are also supported through the four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

We use Read Write Inc. to deliver our Phonics. Find out more here. 

For further details click on the link -

Key Stage 1 & Key Stage 2 - Yearly Overview

Our curriculum is organised over a two year cycle in Key Stage One and Key Stage Two. To find out what your child will be covering each year click on the link.

Combined Cycle A